drains gurgling

Ask our experienced MH repair and renovation experts about your home repair needs!
HUSKY

drains gurgling

Post by HUSKY » Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:59 am

I have a problem that I've been working on for several months now. The toilets will gurgle sometimes. They work fine exept when one of the showers are running, then they fill to the top of the rim and drain slowly. I can take a vent cap under the sink off and it will help some. I ran a snke in every drain and found nothing. I crawled under the house and took the cleanout cap off and had my wife start the shower and flush and every thing worked fine, put it back on and same problem. I have even got on the roof and run a hose and ran water in the vents. Its getting annoying. Any ideas??

David Oxhandler

Re: drains gurgling

Post by David Oxhandler » Sat Apr 13, 2013 9:53 am

Sounds like either a blockage or a venting problem.

Start with a small and easy step. Replace the auto vent under the sink... the one you said when removed improves improves the flow. For compete directions see What is A Plumbing Check Vent?

If changing the vent fails to fix the problem and opening a clean out permits good flow, chances are there is something going on beyond that clean out. I would start by renting the longest power snake available and clearing the drain line beyond the clean out.

If you are on a central sewer system, snake to the point where the line from your home joins the main sewer line. If your snake can not reach that far uncover your sewer line at about the point where the snake was able to reach. Cut the line and continue to snake towards the street. Install another clean out at that point to splice the cut line.

If your home is set back far from the main line you may have to do this more than once. As long as the clean-outs are installed correctly you have made a great and inexpensive improvement that will save a lot of time and money the next time you need to clear the line.